Yet more UK2 spam

Posted Oct 1st, 2008 by Rich

Some years ago someone I know left UK2, in fact it was around the same time that I left. Well with what comes as little to no surprise they have just received yet another email from them. Apparently sent from newsletter@uk2.net with a reply to of comeback_newsletter@uk2.net and a subject of Claim your voucher today!

They do provide an oh so un-useful un-subscribe link in the email, which points to an unknown server: http://tr1.bp28.net/ however the rest of the links do in fact link to www.uk2.net. Even if the person I know would be daft enough to try and un-subscribe, going to a totally unknown URL is something they definitely would not do.

When a customer leaves UK2 they are not given an option to un-subscribe from these mailings, and shouldn’t even be subscribed to them. This is spam. This is wrong, and it should be illegal - oh wait it probably is.


2 Responses to: “Yet more UK2 spam”

  1. Jon Gibbins responds:
    Posted: October 25th, 2008 at 11:44 am

    This is surprisingly common and can be immensely annoying. Equally annoying is that businesses can get away with it. Happy as I’ve been as an Orange customer, it took me around ten attempts to successfully unsubscribe from their newsletter because their unsubscribe was knackered.


Post a Comment

Enter Your Details:


You may write the following basic XHTML Strict in your comments:
<a href="" title=""></a> · <acronym title=""></acronym> · <abbr title=""></abbr>
<blockquote cite=""></blockquote> · <code></code> · <strong></strong> · <em></em>

  • If you’re a first-time commenter, your response will be moderated.
  • If your response includes a link, it will require moderator approval.
Enter Your Comments: